Navigation Menu+

Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley (@KristinKC1)

Posted on Dec 12, 2018 by in Cath Crowley | 0 comments

WORDS IN DEEP BLUE

Standalone

Cath Crowley

BLURB

“One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I’ve read in a very long time. . . . I didn’t just read the pages, I lived in them.” —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places

A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope—and letters hidden between the pages.
 
Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

 

★★★

*4 Stars!*

Who: Young adults navigating through this thing called life…
What: Love and loss. Then some more love and loss. And books!
Where: A cozy, family-owned secondhand bookshop that I desperately wanted to visit…

What more could I possibly ask for?

Great writing? Yes, of course—it has that, too!

WORDS IN DEEP BLUE has it all, and is the perfect antidote for readers craving an uplifting story about Love, Life, Loss,and Literature—but one that also packs a punch.

This author isn’t afraid to showcase the power of all those “L’s” through the ups and downs of life-like characters, nor does she shy away from using humor in her delivery. Dry humor, that is, because is there anything better?

This plot isn’t filled with angst nor is it prolonged with grief, but is satisfyingly plausible and perfectly paced. It’s deep in a way that isn’t dramatic—a gentle sort of depth—with messages that whisper profoundness, rather than being launched at your face.

The “romance” is light but the “love” is pronounced, and the story’s focus lies heavily on much more.

Henry and Rachel were best friends all their lives, but Rachel has always felt something more for Henry. Henry, however, is in love with Amy, and Amy is a heartless B*TCH. (In a nutshell.)

This plot pulls Henry and Rachel back together, working side by side in the bookshop, sharing letters with each other between the pages of their most beloved books, all while warming the hearts of its readers.

Life will be compared to books, and books will be compared to life, and you just may love every second of it. I know I did. Although not heavy in suspense, I found myself flipping quickly through these pages, wanting to know where the plot was heading, and truly just enjoying the touching journey along the way.

This lovely story showed up at the perfect time, and for that I’m a happy reader. Hope you’ll enjoy as much as I, and more!

“I don’t think you can date a letter like this. A love letter, by definition, should be timeless or what’s the point?”

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: