Navigation Menu+

Review ~ A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Posted on Feb 21, 2016 by in Sarah J. Maas | 0 comments

A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Cover A Court of Thorns and Roses
Sarah J. Maas

From Amazon.com:

HE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a wonderful rendition of Beauty and the Beast. While the backbone of the story is Beauty and the Beast the author has her own take on it. With that said, I must confess, I’m not a fan of kid movies and when Tangled came out I wasn’t looking forward to watching it because I knew the story already. Even though Tangled was the Rapunzel story it had added elements that made it stand above the original tale. I felt A Court of Thorns and Roses was similar in the fact that I knew the basic story of Beauty and the Beast but I was treated to a more in-depth story with this one.

”You can either die tonight or offer your life to Prythian by living in it forever, forsaking the human realm.”
Feyre is our heroine who mistakenly kills the wrong animal and is given the above choice. Of course, she sacrifices her life so that her father and siblings won’t be harmed.

”Prythian was ruled by seven High Lords.”
Feyre is expected to spend the rest of her life in this Prythian land. ”Such a brutal, harsh world- with families killing each other for power, for revenge, for spite and control.” Tamlin, the hero, may have captured her to pay the price of her wrong doing but he treated her with the utmost respect as Feyre tried to grasp the concept of never seeing her family again.

Gosh, there’s so much to say about this story but the plot is one the reader should experience on their own without knowing anything beyond the basic Beauty and the Beast storyline.

description

Yesterday my 17 year old son and I had a discussion about Belle from Beauty and the Beast and some of the other older Disney princesses. I had explained the plot of this book and told him how I thought the book would end. Unfortunately, I mixed up my princesses and he schooled me on Disney movies. *lol* After our conversation on the different princesses he came to the conclusion that those girls need to stop “falling asleep” to have a prince come save them. *lol* Gotta love a teenager.

SERIES:
Book one ends not in a cliffhanger but with more story to come. The other two books aren’t released yet.

Amazon-11

signature - Amy

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: