Review: Only When It’s Us by Chloe Liese


(Bergman Brothers #1)

Chloe Liese


Prepare for an emotional rollercoaster brimming with laughter, tears, and slow-burn sexiness in this new adult romance that tackles the vulnerability of love with humor and heart.


Ever since she sat next to me in class and gave me death eyes, Willa Sutter’s been on my shit list. Why she hates me, I don’t know. What I do know is that Willa is the kind of chaos I don’t need in my tidy life. She’s the next generation of women’s soccer. Wild hair, wilder eyes. Bee-stung lips that should be illegal. And a temper that makes the devil seem friendly.

She’s a thorn in my side, a menacing, cantankerous, pain-in-the-ass who’s turned our Business Mathematics course into a goddamn gladiator arena. I’ll leave this war zone unscathed, coming out on top…And if I have my way with that crazy-haired, ball-busting hellion, that will be in more than one sense of the word.


Rather than give me the lecture notes I missed like every other instructor I’ve had, my asshole professor tells me to get them from the silent, surly flannel-wearing mountain man sitting next to me in class. Well, I tried. And what did I get from Ryder Bergman? Ignored. What a complete lumbersexual neanderthal. Mangy beard and mangier hair. Frayed ball cap that hides his eyes. And a stubborn refusal to acknowledge my existence.

I’ve battled men before, but with Ryder, it’s war. I’ll get those notes and crack that Sasquatch nut if it’s the last thing I do, then I’ll have him at my mercy. Victory will have never tasted so sweet.

Only When It’s Us is a frenemies-to-lovers, college sports romance about a women’s soccer star and her surly lumberjack lookalike classmate, complete with a matchmaking professor, juvenile pranks, and a smoking slow burn. This standalone is the first in a series of new novels about a Swedish-American family of five brothers, two sisters, and their wild adventures as they each find happily ever after.


Ryder and Willa’s story is a touching story. One where each of them has something to overcome on their journey to being okay with who they are.

♦ “lumberjack” (hero’s nickname)
♦ “sunshine” (heroine’s nickname)
♦ frienemies to lovers
♦ slow burn
♦ college sports romance (soccer)
♦ deaf/cochlear implant
♦ losing a parent
♦ standalone

Bergman Brothers series can be read as standalone. The Bergman’s are a Swedish-American family of five brothers and two sisters.

The birth order of 5 brothers and 2 sisters:
1) Freya
2) Axel
3) Ren
4) Ryder
5) Viggo
6) Oliver
7) Ziggy

#1 Ryder – Only When It’s Us
#2 Ren & Frankie – Always Only You
#3 Freya – Ever After Always
#4 Alex – With You Forever (releasing 2021)

The author has said, “All the Bergman siblings are getting books.” You can keep watch on this page for when more books are released.

Audiobook source: Hoopla
Narrator: CJ Bloom & Nelson Hobbs
Length: 11H 05M

Amy Signature

•To see more reviews by Amy click here

Author: Foxy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.